Home    Search        Go  
Aboriginal Affairs and Intergovernmental Relations
Home  Inuvialuit Regional Corporation

Inuvialuit Regional Corporation 


Inuvialuit Regional Corporation was established with the overall responsibility of managing the affairs of the settlement as outlined in the Inuvialuit Final Agreement (IFA). Its mandate is to continually improve the economic, social and cultural well-being of the Inuvialuit through implementation of the IFA and by all other available means.

Through a democratic process, Inuvialuit beneficiaries directly control the IRC and its subsidiaries. Each Inuvialuit community - Aklavik, Inuvik, Paulatuk, Sachs Harbour, Tuktoyaktuk and Ulukhaktok - has a community corporation (CC) with elected directors. The directors of the six community corporations elect the Chair/Chief Executive Officer of IRC. The Chairs of each CC, together with the Chair of IRC, form the IRC Board of Directors.

Mr. Duane Ningaqsiq Smith
Chair and Chief Executive Officer, Inuvialuit Regional Corporation (IRC)

Duane Smith is the Chairperson and Chief Executive Officer of Inuvialuit Regional Corporation (IRC).  The Corporation was established in 1985 with the mandate to receive the Inuvialuit lands and financial compensation resulting from the 1984 land claim settlement.  Today it has assets in excess of $ 750 million.

Previous to his election as Chair of IRC, Mr. Smith was President of Inuit Circumpolar Council – Canada (ICC Canada). He was elected President of ICC Canada in June 2002.  As President of ICC Canada, Mr. Smith also became Vice-President of Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami. Duane has been involved with ICC Canada since 1998.   He resigned as President, ICC Canada when elected as IRC Chair & CEO in January 2016.

Locally, Mr. Smith was elected Chairperson of Inuvik Community Corporation for 6 terms beginning in 2004 and recently re-elected as Inuvik’s Chair in December 2015.  He resigned his Chairmanship when elected as IRC Chair & CEO in January 2016. 

Mr. Smith is a member and co-chair to the Board of Directors of ArcticNet. He co-led the Circumpolar Flaw Lead System Study that coordinated and documented data on the Arctic through traditional knowledge and western science. Additionally, Mr. Smith was a member of the National Steering Committee for the Canadian International Polar Year.


Born and raised in Inuvik, NWT, Mr. Smith has represented the Inuvialuit nationally & internationally for many years as a member and Chair of the Inuvialuit Game Council on sustainable resource management & indigenous rights. He also has over 18 years of experience with the region’s government in conservation and resource management. Mr. Smith is a former co-chair of the World Conservation Union (IUCN) Arctic Specialist Group Sustainable Use Initiative.  

Mr. Smith continues his close attachment to the land and is a steadfast advocate for indigenous rights, their relationship to the environment as well as the traditional knowledge and insights indigenous people can provide.

Mr. Smith received the Indspire Institute Award for his contributions in the realm of politics in a 2013 ceremony.  Mr. Smith was also the recipient of the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal.

(bio & photo courtesy of the Inuvialuit Regional Corporation)


Aklavik Community Corporation
, Mr. Billy Archie, Chair 
Tuktoyaktuk Community Corporation, Mr. Vince Teddy, Chair
Inuvik Community Corporation, VACANT
Sachs Harbour Community Corporation, Mr. Vernon Amos, Chair
Paulatuk Community Corporation, Mr. Lawrence Ruben, Chair
Ulukhaktok Community Corporation, Mr. Colin Okheena, Chair


Languages: Inuvialuktun, English, Inuinnaqtun, Gwich’in.

Contact Information:     Bag Service #21
                                       Inuvik NT
                                       X0E 0T0
                                       Ph: (867) 777-7000
                                       Fax: (867) 777-7001
                                       Website: http://www.irc.inuvialuit.com

























































             Webmaster Copyright Disclaimer Privacy